I Shoot Film

Uncategorized

so you’ve sat down with your laptop and your cup of tea and your scrolling through some interesting posts. you come across this one. maybe you are waiting for a train to see a loved one far away and you are passing the time by scanning articles on your iPad. or maybe you’re sat on the toilet taking a break from hectic life and looking at this post on your phone. But maybe, just maybe, you are one of the people that follow my blog, you get an email and it says i’ve written something new so you take a gander. wherever you are, whatever you are doing – thank you.

I posted a few weeks back that I was going to attempt to sell prints of my photography. this process has begun and I have set up a shop on etsy.com called 35mm photography. for the moment I am just listing standard prints of a few of my favourites, but should these sell, I will list more and branch out.

My Shop on Etsy. Click Here.

but before you all rush to go and look at what i have listed i wanted to give you something extra – a story of why and how i got into film photography.

she watched her grandfather scroll through his photographs on his computer. he held his hand out and she jumped onto his lap while the dog wiggled around by their feet. he began to show her the colourful scenes of flowers in the gardens. ever since her nan has passed away her grandad had been spending a lot of time with his camera. it was a canon 4 something, top of the range dslr and she looked at it with awe. from time to time he let her take candid snaps with it, letting her imagination have full control and learning about the bits and buttons as she went.

the day her grandfather passed away she thought of those times. she was given one of his old cameras as a momento. a zenit TTL film camera. to her it looked old and broken. she put it on her shelf to gather dust.

a year later after having studied at university for a couple of months she revisited that old zenit TTL. the man at the photography shop gave it a once over and put a roll of film in it. that day she took the camera out for a test run. when the prints came back, that was the day, the moment that sparked a life time passion for film.

**

I now shoot mostly on an Olympus OM1 and try to test out as many types of film as possible. shooting on film is fairly expensive these days compared to taking photographs on a digital camera. you pay for the film, then development and then get them printed and sometimes you get a real duff roll of film that you have to pay for. that can get you down and has often gotten me quite frustrated.

I am a regular at my local camera shop (Luton Camera Repairs), they have seen me at my happiest and saddest moments whilst playing with film. despite living in london now, I still go back to Luton with my cameras.

these days I have been playing around with developing the ilm myself. I’ve tried both colour and black and white and as you may imagine, colour is a giant pain in the backside. Even with Otis as my glamourous assistant, we still didn’t have enough arms. we have a cupboard in our kitchen that doubles as a darkroom. I wait until it is dark outside, turn all the lights off and climb inside to get the film out of its canister and into the developing tank. film is magic. its something that i highly recommend you try if you haven’t yet. i’ve even been buying my 4 year old niece disposable cameras to get her into analogue photography early! film is something that needs to be kept alive. help it. buy film not megapixels or if you don’t have time to shoot film, then help keep it alive and support film photographers.

my shop on etsy features some of my favourite prints for a mere price of 29.99. if you don’t like them or can’t afford them, that’s fine too. but maybe share it on your facebook page, on twitter or wherever and spread the love. i would be eternally grateful.

have a nice day you lovely people you!

My Shop on Etsy. Click Here.

Leave a Reply

